The International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea (SOLAS) was adopted by the International Conference on Safety of Life at Sea on November 1, 1974 and entered into force on May 25, 1980. SOLAS has been modified twice by means of Protocols in 1978 and 1988. 

SOLAS is regarded as the most important of all internationl threaties concerning the safety of merchant ships. The Convention is divided in two parts. 

Part 1 covers the articles relating to the Convention 1974, and the Protocol of 1988 as well as the consolidated text of the Annex to the 1974 SOLAS Convention. This includes 12 Chapters and an Appendix with the Certificates. Part 2 includes three annexes regarding the implementation of the harmonized system of survey and certification; the list of certificates and documentation to be carried on board ships; and list of Resolutions adopted by the SOLAS Conferences.

DBS is authorized by Flag Administrations to carry out all surveys required under SOLAS and issue the applicable statutory certificate. More specifically, DBS is issuing the below mentioned certificates for ships as per Authorization Matrix:

  • Passenger Ship Safety Certificate
  • Cargo Ship Safety Construction Certificate
  • Cargo Ship Safety Equipment Certificate
  • Cargo Ship Safety Radio Certificate
  • Cargo Ship Safety Certificate
  • Exemption Certificate